FIFA The Best: Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski nominated for best men’s player

Spread the news

Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski has been nominated for FIFA The Best Men’s Player of the Year for 2020, alongside Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo.

The women’s award will be contested between Manchester City defender Lucy Bronze, Chelsea forward Pernille Harder and Lyon defender Wendie Renard.

The FIFA The Best honor is the resurrection of the FIFA World Player of the Year grant, which ran corresponding to the Ballon d’Or grant from 1991 to 2009. The two honors at that point converged to make the FIFA Ballon d’Or from 2010 to 2015 preceding FIFA The Best was once again introduced in 2016.

🥁 Introducing the finalists for The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2020 🏆

🇵🇹 @Cristiano

🇵🇱 @lewy_official

🇦🇷 Lionel Messi#TheBest | #FIFAFootballAwards

— (@FIFAcom) December 11, 2020

Lewandowski, whose 55 objectives helped Bayern win the Treble in 2019-20, said he was frustrated the Ballon d’Or grant had been dropped because of COVID-19. However, he gets the opportunity to add his first FIFA The Best honor as he goes facing champs Ronaldo, who has won it twice, and Messi, who won in 2019.

Ronaldo scored 31 objectives in Serie A last term as Juventus won the title, while Messi hit 25 in La Liga. Lewandowski scored 34 in the Bundesliga to complete second in the European Golden Shoe list.

On the ladies’ side, Bronze and Renard were important for the Lyon side that won the Champions League last term. Harder was at Wolfsburg n the past mission and a sprinter up in Europe’s fundamental rivalry prior to moving to Chelsea.

📢 The finalists for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2020 are 🥁

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 @LucyBronze

🇩🇰 @PernilleMHarder

🇫🇷 @WRenard #TheBest | #FIFAFootballAwards

— FIFA Women’s World Cup (@FIFAWWC) December 11, 2020

The men’s best three goalkeepers were Liverpool’s Alisson, Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak and Bayern’s Manuel Neuer. Best ladies between the posts for 2019-20 were Lyon’s Sarah Bouhaddi, Paris Saint-Germain’s Christiane Endler and Alyssa Naeher, who plays for Chicago Red Stars just as the USWNT.

Bayern supervisor Hansi Flick is facing Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp and Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa for the best men’s administrator, while Lyon’s Jean-Luc Vasseur, Chelsea’s Emma Hayes and Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman will fight it out on the ladies’ side.

Spread the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *