Everything you need to know about the Australia-India Test series

Spread the news

Australia-India Test series

Australia-India renew their fierce rivalry in a four Test series that begins with a day-night game in Adelaide on Thursday.

India won a Test series for the first time Down Under when the sides clashed two years ago and Australia are determined to regain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Here’s everything you need to know about the series!

Sore Smith skips training

Sore Smith skips training4:14


In 2018/19, India claimed a 2-1 series win – their first ever on Australian shores – largely thanks to sensational batting from Virat Kohli and player-of-the-series Cheteshwar Pujara.

India won the opening Test at Adelaide in 2018 largely on the back of Pujara, who ground out 123 then 71 to set up a 31-run win.

He again shapes as key, particularly with Rohit Sharma set to miss the first two Tests (at least). Superstar skipper Kohli will want to make his mark in his only Test of the series, before heading home for the birth of his first child.

But there was one major caveat to India’s series win that summer – the absences of Steve Smith and David Warner. They were serving one-year bans for their roles in the ball-tampering saga.

Warner will miss the opening Test with injury, leaving Smith carrying a heavy burden in Australia’s relatively thin batting order. Meanwhile, Australia’s all-star bowling attack is set in stone with quicks Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins complemented by spinner Nathan Lyon, Australia’s top wicket-taker in the last series.

Australia start as overwhelming favourites in the opening Test having never been beaten in their seven day-night matches to date, while Virat Kohli’s India play their first overseas game under lights after their maiden pink-ball outing in Kolkata last year against Bangladesh.

Australias GOAT emerges2:22


Australia claimed a 2-1 victory in a three-game ODI series, before India levelled the score with a 2-1 series victory in a T20I campaign. Now the pair will face off for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy as well as ICC World Test Championship points.

ODI series

First ODI: Friday, November 27 – SCG (Day-Night) – Australia won by 66 runs

Second ODI: Sunday, November 29 – SCG (Day-Night) – Australia won by 51 runs

Third ODI: Wednesday, December 2 – Manuka Oval, India won by 13 runs

T20 series

First T20: Friday, December 4 – India won by 11 runs

Second T20: Sunday, December 6 – India won by 6 wickets

Third T20: Tuesday, December 8 – Australia won by 12 runs

Test series (all times AEDT)

First Test: December 17-21 – Adelaide Oval (Day-Night), 3pm start.

Second Test: December 26-30 – MCG, 10.30am

Third Test: January 7-11 – SCG, 10.30am

Fourth Test: January 15-19 – The Gabba, Brisbane, 10.30am

Capacity at the Adelaide Oval has been raised to 50 per cent, or over 20,000 fans per day.

At the MCG, 30,000 fans should line the famous ground on Boxing Day.

Both the SCG and the Gabba are set to be at full capacity.

Australia-India Test series squads


Tim Paine (c, wk), Pat Cummins (vc), Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner.


Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Mayank Agarwal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant (wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, K. L. Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Mohammed Siraj, Hanuma Vihari, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav

TK News

Spread the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *